Seattle and Skiing

A few weeks ago, my brother and I went on a long weekend trip to visit my Dad, who’s working in Seattle, and drive up to Whistler, B.C. for some skiing!

Friday was open to explore Seattle, and since my brother and I had never really been to the downtown before, we were eager to see what all the buzz was about.

Our first stop was across from our hotel, at Storyville coffee. It’s a small corner coffee spot with an elevated ambiance and simple menu. I went with the Americano, he went with a cappucino. Those beans are strong and so flavorful, which is nice when you drink it black like I do. We watched as people flowed in and out, with a constant line at the counter to order.

Storyville Coffee

We took our coffees on the road and headed to our next spot: breakfast at Fonté Cafe and Wine Bar. The waitress must’ve immediately noticed our to-go coffees from Storyville (oops) because when we were seated she offered us the same coffees on the house to see which was better. Of course we agreed, I mean who would pass up a free cup of good Seattle coffee? The difference between the brews was definitely noticeable, with Fonté’s being a little bolder; however, I would still recommend stopping by both places if you’re in Seattle!

Then we ordered food, which was equally as good as their coffee. I had steel cut oatmeal with fruit and my brother had an egg scramble with a side salad and toast. The owner stopped by to talk to us for a bit, and was so easy-going and welcoming.

Fonte Coffee

After breakfast we ventured back onto the Seattle streets and headed towards Pike Place Market. What a fun place! You could walk around there for hours and never be bored. We sampled food, fresh hot apple cider, and admired all the beautiful flowers and crafts that were up for sale. This is spot is a must when visiting the city, it’s so well known!

Pike Place

Our last stop in Seattle before our drive up to Whistler, B.C. was picking up sandwiches at Delicatus. All I can say is this place is BOMB. Their menu is huge and so versatile with hilarious names and descriptions like “The Californian, (May drive up prices for no apparent reason)” which is what I ordered. It was amazing! I didn’t get the chance to take a picture of it because I was so eager to dive right in. The vibe inside Delicatus is cool and established, with high ceilings, brick walls and hand-written chalk notes along the walls.

Our one day in Seattle was a success, with great coffee and sightseeing and rounded out by a delicious sandwich. I can’t wait to go back already!

The next three days, my dad, brother and I skiied Whistler Blackcomb Mountain in Canada. The conditions were not the best, with a lot of fog and slushy snow, but we made the most of it. It had been a few years since I had last been skiing, but after a few warm up runs I was good to go.

Luckily on the last day it cleared up a little at the top of the mountain and we were able to snag some pictures…

Skiing

Overall it was a great trip, with Seattle definitely being a highlight. I’m already looking forward to next time.

Leave a Reply

