I’m Turning into a Yogi

I never thought I’d say that, but it’s true. In November, I signed up for my first hot yoga class and have fallen in love with the practice ever since.

For the longest time I was a competitive runner and I was lucky enough to do it at the collegiate level at a Division 1 school. During college I started feeling the burn out: I was constantly getting injured, frustrated, and just stopped enjoying the sport. I still run from time to time, but after I graduated I wanted to explore other exercising options. Luckily I came across Forever Om Yoga.

I had taken maybe one yoga class before with my mom, and hadn’t thought about the practice much since then. When I saw Forever Om Yoga’s one month introductory offer though, I couldn’t pass it up.  The studio is about a 5 minute drive from my house, so I thought “Why not try it out?” and I am so glad I did.

forever_om_logo

It has been such a positive experience from day one. As soon as you walk into the studio, you’re put into a different mindset. The instructors smile and welcome you in by name, the ambiance is calming with the smell of burning incense  and soft music playing. After sweating buckets through my first class, I knew I was hooked.

Now almost four months later, I’m still going to the studio 4-5 times a week and feeling so many positive side effects. 15 Things that Happen When You Get Into Yoga sums up a lot of them.

I’ve been learning more challenging poses and balances, and it’s been such a fun journey! The instructors at Forever Om Yoga have honestly made such a difference too. Each one teaches a slightly different flow and you learn what level of difficulty to expect depending on who is leading class. They are all very encouraging and make a point to get to know each and every student.

yoga.jpg

I typically go to class most mornings before work and it’s a great way to wake up and feel ready to take on the day. I actually look forward to waking up early and going!

Yoga is a great environment to challenge yourself and progress is evident when you try a new or more challenging pose. Practicing has gotten me more in tune with my body; I’ve definitely noticed more strength in my arms and legs. The routine and lifestyle that come with practicing yoga has become more than just a hobby for me now, as I have noticed it positively impacting other parts of my life as well. I think it’s safe to say I’m turning into a yogi…

Flow on my friends!

Leave a Reply

