I Ran an 8K!

A good friend of mine convinced me to sign up with her for the Bank of America Shamrock Shuffle 8k in Chicago this past weekend.

Bof A race

I haven’t been in the running groove lately, but I thought it would be fun to change up my routine and have a race to look forward to! For the month of March, I wrote out a plan to run about 3-4 times a week, starting at two miles and working my way comfortably up to five. My goal was to run the race under the average mile time I had entered of sub 8:30.

Two weeks into my preparation, I realized I naturally run so much faster outside than on the treadmill. Anyone else feel this way too? I was setting my mile pace on the treadmill to about 9-9:15 pace and it felt rough… Then when I started going on my runs outside, I used the Nike+ running app and my mile pace was sub 8:15  per mile! I guess I need to remember that from now on…

When race day came, I was actually really excited! This was my first ever public race and the first time I’d been in a race since my sophomore year of college. It was so fun running through the streets of downtown Chicago and weaving through the crowd of runners as the 8k went on. I felt really good the whole time and I knew my time was going to be better than any of the pacing I had done that month. Sure enough I was right, check out my results!

Untitled

After having such a positive experience with this 8k I think I’m definitely interested in signing up for other races in the future, and maybe I’ll even do a half marathon this summer! (Rock N Roll Half anyone??)

One thought on “I Ran an 8K!

Leave a Reply

