The Benefits of Yoga: 6 Months In

Trust Yoga.jpg

This could not be more true.

The end of April will mark six months that I have been consistently practicing yoga! It’s been an amazing experience so far and I can see myself continuing to use what I’ve been learning for a long time down the road. I’ve experienced so many benefits from being consistent and always striving to improve in some way. Trust the process and the timing. Below are a few areas where I have noticed progress since joining the yoga community:

1. Increased strength. This seems simple but my legs finally feel rock hard again like they did back when I was a competitive distance runner. I’ve seen a difference in my arms as well, and I’ve made note of that when I hold crow pose, side crow, and I can definitely withstand a lot more chatarungas than when I first started…

2. More flexibility. This is another benefit that seems to go hand-in-hand with yoga and now I believe it! I’ve always been able to touch my toes (probably due to my monkey long arms) but I’ve noticed more flexibility in other areas of my body, like my back and abdomen. I can twist further in certain poses and when I bend over backwards I can reach so much further. (Maybe not quite like this girl, but I’ll get there)

Back Bend.jpg

3. Better posture. This is due to the previous two points, and it’s important to always strive for better posture. When you have better posture, you carry yourself stronger and with more confidence. Also, you just plain look better and healthier when you stand or sit up straight.

4. It gets you into a routine. Now I wake up before my alarm goes off at 5:28AM most mornings. I’ve gotten my body into a routine and I love starting my day at the Forever Om Yoga studio. I leave class feeling refreshed, awake and ready to take on the day’s challenges.

5. Gaining a sense of mindfulness. This is an important ideal if you want to make the most of your experiences in everyday life! Be more aware of what you’re doing, where you are and who you’re with. Practicing yoga has helped me with this and I have incorporated it into other parts of my life as well. But it’s also something you can always improve on!

Leave a Reply

