48 Hrs in NYC

This week I had the chance to be in NYC for a few days for work, and you know I took advantage of being in my favorite city. I stayed at the Carlton Hotel on Madison Ave., and when I wasn’t in meetings I walked around, ate and drank at some new and old spots.

Luckily the weather was gorgeous the two days I was there, so I was able to go to some rooftop bars and walk around as much as I could without getting sweaty and gross.

Night 1 I met up with some old intern friends at Tavern 29 for dinner and drinks. We chose this spot for the casual rooftop bar, but found out it was closed for a private party (classic) so we ate in the dim pub bar. The interior was cool, but definitely more of a winter bar due to the dark wood and dim lighting. Sadly the food was mediocre but we made up for that by going to the 230 Fifth rooftop bar and garden for some incredible city views.

Day 1 I was in Tribeca for meetings all day and I walked down to the Freedom Tower and memorial site before heading home.

Night 2 I met up with a friend at Fonda in Chelsea for some Mexican food and margaritas. Their guacamole is SO good. It’s nice and chunky with a kick and its served in one of those Molcajete bowls. My friend ordered pulled pork tacos and I had Tlacoyo Con Hongos, which is a vegetarian dish consisting of a black bean spread with vegetables and I added a side of rice. I could never get tired of Mexican food…

After dinner my friend (who is from NY) had never been to the top of the Standard Hotel in  the Meatpacking District. So obviously we had to walk down there so she could see the incredible view! Meatpacking has so many great bars and restaurants and it was one of my favorite neighborhoods to go to when I lived there a few summers ago

After Le Bain, we went to Brass Monkey to meet up with a few other people. I discovered this bar isn’t just one floor…but three! With a covered rooftop garden area! It was a great end to the night and my business trip, to be able to catch up with friends and coworkers in the Big Apple. I’ll be back again next weekend, and I’ll fill you in on what I do/where I go that time too. Hopefully I will be moving there for work sooner rather than later! Until then though, Chicago has been treating me pretty well.

Leave a Reply

