NYC Take 2

What do ya know, I was back in NYC for another work trip! I flew in early to enjoy the weekend, see some college friends, and try some new restaurants!

I stayed at the Gatsby Hotel on Houston Street and it was in a great location to explore the surrounding neighborhoods. I walked a whopping 26 miles between Saturday and Sunday, phew… But it was worth it.

I stopped for a coffee at the most adorable place that I’ve seen all over Instagram – Happy Bones. Isn’t it funny how seeing pictures of these places on social media makes them seem to much bigger than they really are? Happy Bones is a tiny storefront coffee shop, but the white interiors and clean design made it very open. The coffee was great and cooled me off from walking in the summer heat.


For dinner I went to by Chloe! A 100% vegan restaurant that I’ve been dying to try since I heard about it a few months ago. I was warned about a long line so we went early and it wasn’t bad at all. I ordered the taco quinoa salad and the air baked sweet potato fries, which we dipped in the homemade beet ketchup and chipotle aioli. My friend ordered the classic burger, which looked delicious! If (when) I go back I would definitely order a burger, and also try her sweets! Those cookies were huge…

The interior is open and bright, and we had to hunt for a small table but ended up snagging an outside one in the shade. It was a great meal and experience overall!

Sunday was a long day – I walked 16 miles, but it was so fun! I went to brunch at another spot I’ve been hearing a lot about – The Butcher’s Daughter. It’s another cute, open restaurant at a corner location in Soho. We had no problem grabbing a seat at the bar facing the street to people watch. The plants and decorations were so cute! My friend and I both ordered the Watermelon juice and two slices of avocado toast. Everything was amazing and so filling! I like that they’re a dairy-free and vegetarian restaurant which makes ordering easier for me.



Throughout the day I walked through Battery Park, up the west side of town and actually ran into the Pride Parade! It was so exciting seeing everyone come together for a great cause and support the LGBT community.

It was such a fun weekend and luckily the weather cooperated again. I don’t have another trip planned to NYC right now, but I’m hoping that changes!

What restaurants and activities have you done in NYC? The list is endless!

One thought on “NYC Take 2

Leave a Reply

