The Perfect Grill Night

Grilling is a staple for 4th of July weekend, and my family and I did just that on Monday. We had a delicious spread of fruit salad, grilled vegetables, turkey and veggie burgers. I picked up a few new vegan products I wanted to try at the grocery store that I’ll share too!


On the grill we had corn on the cob with earth balance vegan butter spread, sliced eggplant, yellow squash, white onion, and a bell pepper. We seasoned the rest of the vegetables with simple garlic salt, salt, and olive oil. My family ate turkey burgers, but we also cooked two new vegetarian meat products I found at Heinen’s.


This Sweet Earth Santa Fe veggie burger was so flavorful! It’s made of sweet potato, black beans, corn and grains and packed with plant protein – a whopping 17g! It was also pre-cooked so it stayed together when cooked on the grill. Then we tried the Field Roast Mexican Chipotle sausage links, which my mom tried first and said were so spicy that I didn’t even taste it. She said it was really good though, which makes me want to try their other flavors I saw in store – Italian and Smoke Apple Sage.

We sat in our backyard all night and enjoyed the weather and food. We finished the night with a vegan dessert I’ve been dying to try – Ben and Jerry’s Non Dairy flavors! I spotted a few flavors in Target and couldn’t say no. We tasted the Chunky Monkey and Coffee Caramel Fudge, both tasted like regular ice cream, and my family agreed! I’m slowly turning them onto more non-dairy food options, and showing them that you don’t need to eat meat and dairy all the time!

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 9.17.07 AM

Screen Shot 2016-07-06 at 9.17.20 AM

 

I hope you all had a wonderful holiday weekend, and hopefully this week flies by because I’m already ready for the weekend!

Leave a Reply

