Barcocina

This modern, Mexican-inspired restaurant is a place I’ve had on my Chicago list for quite some time, and I finally made it. Barcocina is a relatively new restaurant downtown in the Lakeview neighborhood with a huge open space and outdoor patio.

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 6.48.48 PM

Screen Shot 2016-07-13 at 6.48.02 PM

The ambiance is hip with mainly wooden interior and huge bar areas. Their menu is short, sweet and to the point with a great variety and excellent drink choices. I went with part of my family and we made sure to order from each section of their menu – Starts, Shared Plates, and Tacos. We made it for Happy Hour specials and ordered their house margaritas, which are tasty and definitely strong!

For food we started with the House salsa and chips as well as requesting a spicy salsa. Then ordered the Seared Ahi Tuna plate, which was served thinly sliced with avocado and seasonings. The tuna was cooked perfectly and had plenty of flavor. Next came the roasted cauliflower cooked in a spicy salsa macha. We didn’t realize how spicy it was, but the texture and flavor was incredible. Then we ordered two flights of tacos – the cajun shrimp and the pineapple pork. Both were good but the shrimp had too much remolaude sauce in it so we tore those a part a little.

Barcocina also offers a bottomless brunch on the weekends, which I’m sure is a blast. Overall I would recommend this restaurant for any meal with friends and/or family.  I’m glad I was finally able to eat here and I still have my eye on some other menu items, so I’ll have to make another trip back.

Let me know if you’ve been here and what your thoughts are! I’m a big fan of Mexican food, especially when there’s a little twist on the menu options.

Leave a Reply

