Whole Foods Vegan March

Recently I feel like I’m in need of a reset with my diet and alcohol intake, and with a new month starting tomorrow, the time is now!

I have a few events coming up in April and the following months and I want to feel and look my best. So during March I’m going to focus on a whole foods vegan diet to reset my body along with appropriate exercise. I’m not looking at this as a “diet” but more of a reset and lifestyle improvement.

I don’t usually have a problem with getting motivated to sweat (thanks recently to taking classes with friends!) but I struggle more with my eating habits. Yes I’m still vegan, but I’m eating out more than I should (like giving in to those darn delivery apps), snacking when I’m bored, and overdoing meal portions. I want to reign in this pattern of mindlessness I’ve fallen into and get serious about what’s going in my body.

I’m going to focus on lots of fruits and vegetables, whole grains, legumes, and minimize (if not eliminate) processed foods. I’m sharing this here so I keep myself more accountable and I’ll post regular updates along the way.

My first big grocery haul will include most of the following:

Vegetables: spinach, romaine, carrots, mushrooms, bell peppers, cucumber, zucchini, tomato, potatoes (regular and sweet), broccoli, cauliflower, avocado, chickpeas, black beans, lentils

Fruits: bananas, apples, all kinds of berries

Grains etc: oatmeal, brown rice, quinoa, sprouted bread, hummus, tahini

This will also be a great opportunity to improve my cooking skills! I’m not big into smoothies, especially when it’s still winter in Chicago. I want to make homemade soups, salad dressings, rice bowls, stir fries etc. I’m going to look through some of my favorite food bloggers recipes for ideas and new things to try.

If you want to do a reset with me, by all means let’s do this!

happy-flowers

One thought on “Whole Foods Vegan March

Leave a Reply

